Statement - INDONESIA: Papuan Peace Declaration

A Statement from a group of Papuan organisations, indigenous and political Papuan stakeholders forwarded by the Asian Human Rights Commission
AHRC, 12 July 2011

INDONESIA: Papuan Peace Declaration

Bahasa Indonesia

With thanks to Almighty God

We, the signatories represent the more than 500 participants at the Papua Peace Conference, consisting of representatives of religious groups, customary groups, women, youth, academics, student organisations and resistance groups from Papua who took an active part in the Papua Peace Conference. The conference was held in the auditorium of the Cenderawasih University, on 5-7 July, 2011

At the conference which had the theme: "Let us together make Papua a Land of Peace'', we shared experiences and strengthened each other. We were also enriched by material that was presented by the following speakers:

  1. Djoko Sujanto, Minister-Coordinator for Politics and Law of the Republic of Indonesia
  2. Barnabas Suebu, Governor of the Province of Papua
  3. Bekto Suprapto, Chief of Police of Papua
  4. Erfi Triasunu, Commander of the Military Command XVII/Cenderawasih
  5. Leo Laba Ladjar, Bishop of the Diocese of Jayapura
  6. Tony Wanggai, Chairman of the Papuan Provincial Branch of NU and representative of the Papua Muslim Council
  7. Sokrates Sofyan Yoman, Chairman of the Synod of the Alliance of Baptist Churches in Papua
  8. Forkorus Yaboisembut, Chairman of the Papuan Customary Council


    We reflected on the situation in Papua by deepening our understanding of its concepts and indicators. We also identified problems which have to be resolved in order to achieve our objective.

In accordance with the cultural traditions of Papua regarding ways to resolve conflicts by peaceful means:

  1. We declare that dialogue is the best way to finding the solution to the conflict between the Papuan people and the Indonesian Government
  2. We determine to find the solution to political, security, legal, human rights, economic, environmental and social-cultural issues in Papua by means of dialogue between the Papuan people and the Indonesian Government, mediated by a neutral third party
  3. We welcome the initiative of the central government in support of the preparatory processes for a Jakarta-Papua dialogue


Through the Papua Peace Conference we decided on the criteria for Papuan representatives who should take part in the dialogue with the Indonesian government:


  • Fluency in English
  • Have no links of any kind with the system of Indonesia
  • Have the ability and experience to engage in diplomacy and negotiation (certified)
  • Imbued with the innermost belief and ideology of Papua Merdeka
  • Understand the history of the Papuan struggle
  • Have good ethics and morals
  • Not be temperamental
  • Negotiators who have a mandate from the leadership
  • One of the political resistance organisations of the people of West Papua and/or are recommended by one of the resistance organisations of the people of West Papua
  • Are acceptable to the majority of the political resistance organisations and the people of West Papua
  • Have the spirit of Papuan nationalism
  • Physically and mentally fit
  • Understand the Papuan problem and think creatively to seek a solution to the Papuan problem
  • Have integrity and loyalty towards efforts for the reconciliation and consolidation of the West Papuan revolution, including the commitment to accept all the consequences
  • Are capable of and willing to WORK TOGETHER as members of the West Papua Negotiation Team
  • KNOWLEDGE or EXPERTISE in one or more of the following is necessary: politics, law, economy, security, human rights, social-cultural affairs and the history of the national struggle of West Papua
  • The negotiation team shall be composed of a balanced proportion of men and women


Referring to the above criteria we propose that the following persons shall be members of the West Papuan negotiation team:

  1. Rex Rumakiek
  2. John Otto Ondawame
  3. Benny Wenda
  4. Octovianus Mote
  5. Leoni Tanggahma


Herewith we submit the Papuan Peace Declaration to all the People of Papua, the Indonesian Government and all people who are concerned with achieving peace in Papua;

Jayapura, 7 July 2011

Forkorus Yaboisembut, Chairman of the Papuan Customary Council
Em. Herman Awom, Moderator Papuan Presidium Council
Ev. Edison Waromi, Executive President of the West Papua National Authority
Septinus Paiki, Executive Council Committee of Independence and Sovereignty of West Melanesia
Eliazer Awom, Reconciliation Forum of Ex Prisoners / political prisoners of Papua
Albert Kaliele, Reconciliation Forum of Ex Prisoners / political prisoners of West Papua
Onesimus Banundi, Vice Chairman of Tabi's Customary Council
Mb. Yan Pieter Yarangga, Chairman of Saireri's Customary Council
Barnabas Mandacan, Chairman of Bomberay's Customary Council
Sir-Zet Gwasgwas, Chairman of Domberay's Customary Council
Stanislaus Gebze, Chairman of Anim Ha's Customary Council
Dominikus Surabut, Secretary of La Pago's Customary Council
Benny Ruben Edoway, Chairman of Me Pago's Customary Council
Abina Wasanggai, General Srcretary of the Solidarity of Papuan Wowen
Benyamin Gurik, The Head of Student Executive Body of UNCEN
Selpius Bobii, Chairman of the United Front of West Papuan People's Struggle
H. Sarmadan Sabuku, Chairman of the Papuan Muslim Council

# # #

About AHRC: The Asian Human Rights Commission is a regional non-governmental organisation that monitors human rights in Asia, documents violations and advocates for justice and institutional reform to ensure the protection and promotion of these rights. The Hong Kong-based group was founded in 1984.